Tuesday Twister – Week of 3/30/2010 – Korean Food – Hazelnut Butter

tuesdaytwister

It’s been a while since I participated in the Tuesday Twister, because Tuesdays have been really busy for me lately.

This is more of a summary of things that have been twisting in my kitchen over this month than over this week.

In the beginning of the month, we had a nice homemade Korean dinner. I made some amazing kimchi; it’s really authentic tasting. The rest of the family doesn’t like it, so any tips on what to do with kimchi? I also made scallion pancakes with spelt flour and they were a big hit. I sauteed ground beef with garlic, pepper, sesame oil, a little rapadura, and sesame oil, and made the side dishes from this bibimbap recipe, cooked rice, and fried some eggs so we could assemble our own rice bowls. It was really fun. All of the little salads take a lot of prep, but it’s worth it.

Then my birthday was a few weeks ago. I was going to make a meringue cake, but the eggs were old and wouldn’t peak, so I made a “failed meringue cake” (I used refined sugar, but I can post the recipe if anyone is interested, it came out really well). I frosted it with chocolate buttercream frosting and filled it with homemade chocolate hazelnut butter:
2 cups roasted hazelnuts, skins removed (or crispy hazelnuts)
1 cup rapadura (next time I think I will try 1/2-3/4 cup honey instead)
1/4 cup cocoa powder
up to 1/4 cup oil (I used hazelnut oil)
1/2 tsp vanilla

Process nuts in food processor until they turn into a paste. Add remaining ingredients (adding the oil a little at a time) and process until smooth and spreadable. Store in the fridge for a month or two, if it survives your husband that long!

Go visit Gnowfglins and see what is twisting in everyone else’s kitchens.

2 Responses to “Tuesday Twister – Week of 3/30/2010 – Korean Food – Hazelnut Butter”

  1. Wardeh @ GNOWFGLINS Says:

    Well, I’m a sucker for hazelnuts and chocolate, so I just may have to try that. :-) Happy belated birthday! I’m glad to see you again for the Twister! I hope things slow down for you.

  2. lifeinarecipe Says:

    I am glad that you stopped in to visit my blog….you have a very interesting site along with equally interesting recipes that I am going to have to try!
    Thanks again for stopping by….I’ll be back to visit!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

