Pizza Friday

In our house, Friday is usually homemade pizza night.  It’s a little challenging to do a cow’s milk and wheat free pizza, but I did it.

I used Bob’s Red Mill Whole Grain Spelt Pizza Dough recipe. Now, I let the dough sit (in a cold house) much longer than you are supposed to, but it didn’t seem like there was a lot of activity so I don’t think that’s the problem. The dough is much harder to roll out than wheat pizza dough. Since there is less gluten, it’s less stretchy. I rolled it out on a spelt-flour-covered cutting board, but then it tore as I lifted it on to the pan, and I just rolled it in the pan instead. I used garbanzo bean flour instead of white bean flour.

The topping idea came from Food and Wine’s Quick From Scratch Italian Cookbook, which appears to be out of print. (It’s a great book, we use it all the time, although there are a lot of pasta dishes I can’t have now. :()

Slice an eggplant thinly and saute it in olive oil until golden brown.
Top pizza with eggplant slices and minced garlic (I used 1 huge clove) and ground pepper.
Bake at 450 for 12 minutes.
Slice/crumble soft goat cheese over the top.
Dot with pesto sauce (I used mine that I froze from the basil I grew in the garden).
Bake for another 15 minutes.

The crust wasn’t bad, it came out kind of crispy and was a little challenging to get off the pizza stone. Also, the spelt crust is a bit drier than the wheat crust, so it would have probably done better with the pesto directly on the crust (or a light coating of olive oil). Still, I was happy to have pizza.

Leave a Reply

