Book Review – The Whole Foods Allergy Cookbook

I stumbled across something online about The Whole Foods Allergy Cookbook by Cybele Pascal, so I borrowed it from the library. I need to get myself a copy of this book. It seems like a lot of the gluten-free recipes I have found online (and a lot of the ones in Spelt Healthy!) contain some combination of corn, potatoes, sugar, and eggs, none of which I can have. This book does have corn and potato ingredients, but there are plenty of recipes without either. And finally there are some dessert recipes that I can actually make without any/much modification! I’m still trying to get used to the multiple ways to substitute for eggs (and what works where). There are a few recipes that call for Ener-G egg replacer, which contains potato (and I think corn) flour, so I haven’t been able to find a sufficient substitute for that.

A few good-sounding recipes:
Turkey Noodle Soup with Spinach (planning to try as a post-Thanksgiving recipe)
Avocado Mayonnaise
Creamy Avocado Chicken Salad (wishing I had not frozen the leftover chicken from this weekend)
Artichoke Spread
Lasagna with Eggplant, Portabello Mushrooms, and Fresh Tomatoes
Old-fashioned Oatmeal Cookies
Rolled Maple Sugar Cookies
Carrot Bundt Cake
Vietnamese Summer Rolls with Sweet Chili Dipping Sauce

It also has some good nutritional info in the back (how much calcium is in which foods, and so on).

I tried the Carrot Bundt Cake for a church supper. I replaced the raisins in the recipe with a drained small can of crushed pineapple, used spelt instead of the barley flour, and made my own oat flour by grinding oats in the mini food processor (so it came out a little less smooth). It was a really nice cake-tasting cake that passed as an acceptable dessert to my son. Next time I make it, I would add chopped walnuts.

2 Responses to “Book Review – The Whole Foods Allergy Cookbook”

  1. Joe Warren Says:

    For Rebecca, Spelt Healthy! has no mention of white potatoes or corn.
    I am a celiac and I can eat everything in that book so far. She also says you may substitute egg beaters and maple sugar for cane sugar. It sure works for me.

  2. Rebecca Says:

    True, I was generalizing recipes together. I have tried maple syrup as a substitute in a lot of Spelt Healthy! recipes, and it is a great cookbook.

    Egg Beaters do contain eggs though. I am still experimenting with substituting/leaving out eggs in various recipes, which works except in egg-based recipes (e.g. quiches).

Leave a Reply

