Enchilada Sauce

Tonight we are having Stacked Enchiladas with Turkey, with a few substitutions. I can’t use the canned enchilada sauce, because it has sugar added (or at least I think that was it, there was something about it in the store that I decided to make my own). I was going to make the recipe I usually do, but there were a lot of things I needed to substitute and I have managed to improve on it, so here is the recipe:

1 large can (12 oz) tomato paste
1 small can (8 oz) tomato sauce
Either 2 cups beef stock OR 1 large Knorr beef bouillon cube and 2 cups water
1/2 tsp ground cumin
1/2-1 tsp garlic powder
2 tsp chili powder
1/2 tsp paprika
1/2 tsp oregano
3 drops Tabasco (or more to taste)
sea salt to taste (if using bouillon, you shouldn’t need it)

Combine all ingredients in a saucepan and simmer over low heat for 5-10 minutes.

(For the stacked enchiladas, I am using brown rice tortillas instead of corn tortillas, goat cheddar instead of Monterey Jack, and goat feta instead of regular feta).

Tags:

One Response to “Enchilada Sauce”

  1. Turkey Black Bean Chipotle Enchiladas « Cooking without almost everything Says:

    […] recipe Enchilada Sauce (or one can pre-made enchilada sauce) 6-8 large tortillas (brown rice, wheat, spelt, sprouted, […]

Leave a Reply

