Spelt Sourdough Burger Buns

I used this recipe as a base but I made many modifications.

I took 2 cups of very stiff sourdough starter, and added 1/2 cup of lukewarm goat’s milk and 1 cup of whole spelt flour. I mixed those together to make a sponge, and I let it sit in a chilly kitchen for about 8 hours. (If you have a warm house, you could let it sit out for a while and then put it into the fridge to retard for a few hours).

Then I beat together 2 eggs, 1 tsp salt, and 3 tablespoons of olive oil, and mixed those into my sponge with about 1 1/2 cups of white spelt flour. (I added enough flour to get a somewhat soft, sticky dough, without making it too stiff). I let that rest for 20 minutes. I was going to try the original recipe’s suggestion of rolling the dough and cutting out 4-inch circles, but I didn’t have anything handy to use as a cutter, so I divided it into 8 pieces and dusted them with more white spelt flour and formed them into flat, round shapes. I then put them on a baking stone that had been liberally dusted with white spelt to rise until doubled in bulk.

I baked them at 350 for 20 minutes (although my oven temp is really off sometimes, so it may be worth checking them sooner as the original recipe suggested). They came out great!

One Response to “Spelt Sourdough Burger Buns”

  1. Tuesday Twister « Cooking without almost everything Says:

    […] made sourdough spelt hot dog buns using my Sourdough Burger Buns recipe, and just shaped them into 5×3 ovals (makes 10 […]

Leave a Reply

