Arugula and Garlic Scape Pesto

We had a big hail and windstorm (possibly the edge of a tornado), and my black walnut tree was uprooted, and my garden (such as it was this year) was mostly decimated. My hardneck garlic that has been growing since last October is still standing tall, though, and it’s time to harvest the scapes (flower shoots) so that the bulbs grow nice and big. I figured they would be nice in homemade pesto.

If you don’t grow your own garlic, they often sell garlic scapes at the farmer’s market, along with arugula (that’s where I got mine, since I was too busy with the baby to plant it this year). This is a perfect spring pesto, since the basil isn’t ready to use yet.

2 cups arugula
5-6 garlic scapes, cut into pieces
1 clove garlic
1/2 cup olive oil
1/2 cup toasted walnuts (or pine nuts, or green pumpkin seeds if you can’t have tree nuts)
1/2 cup grated sheep’s milk Romano cheese

Process together the garlic, scapes, arugula, walnuts, and oil in a food processor. Stir in Parmesan.

I think this is great on pizza, although my husband thinks you need to have red sauce (I suppose you could have both). It’s also great on sandwiches or pasta.

Leave a Reply

