Lacto-Fermented Veggies, Sourdough, Mayonnaise (Tuesday Twister – 11/17/2009)

tuesdaytwister

I’m participating in the GNOWFGLINS Tuesday Twister blog carnival again this week.

It has been another busy kitchen week! I needed to make some frozen meals for our church fair, as well as meals for two friends who just had babies, so I decided to make Spiced & Fragrant Chicken, which was a hit in my house when I made it before. Chicken legs were on sale for 49 cents/pound, so I made enough for 4 people for around $12! I made a huge pot, and it’s now in my freezer, ready for delivery. Making this also made me think that I really want to try doing a OAMC project one of these weeks; I just have to come up with a good assortment of recipes to make together. Since we have special dietary needs, the meal plans at Once a Month Mom don’t quite work, but something like that would be great.

I tried making mayonnaise for the first time! I keep meaning to try it but being afraid to. I had some egg yolks left over from making gluten-free sourdough hamburger buns, so I decided to try the recipe at Cooking For Engineers. I love that site, maybe it’s the engineer in me. 😉 He has you whisk together the ingredients. I have always loved doing things by hand anyway, and I feel like you have a lot more control over the speed at which you add the olive oil this way. It came out perfectly, now I won’t be intimidated about making it again. It was such a fun experience; it’s almost like magic how it emulsifies.

Cortido & Sauerkraut

Maybe this week should be “what is growing in your kitchen.” I have buckwheat sprouting on the counter, to use in either sprouted buckwheat granola or buckwheat porridge. I also finally got around to starting a sourdough starter again. I am not sure if it would be ready for Thanksgiving, but at least I will have it soon. I really miss my sourdough; I should have frozen my starter when my nine month old was born but I didn’t get around to it.

The kefir is still going strong. I’ve been using it to make smoothies.

And that’s not all. I made lacto-fermented sauerkraut and cortido. I really feel a sense of accomplishment!

Go to Wardeh’s site to see what’s twisting in everyone else’s kitchen!

5 Responses to “Lacto-Fermented Veggies, Sourdough, Mayonnaise (Tuesday Twister – 11/17/2009)”

  1. Wardeh @ GNOWFGLINS Says:

    So wonderful that your anxiety was for naught regarding the mayo. That is something I have been wanting to make too – and not doing because of fear. Once I tried it, it did NOT emulsify, but it was probably not a good recipe. 🙂 I’ve been thinking of doing a big baking day, too, – no OAMC – but just to catch up and stock up a bit more. Love everything you’re doing – thanks for sharing your week in the Twister!

  2. Millie@Real Food for Less Money Says:

    I’ve been wanting to make mayo too but have been putting it off because I don’t have a food processor just a blender. Maybe I’ll try the whisking method.
    The cortido sounds great. Is it very spicy?

    • Rebecca Says:

      I highly recommend the whisk method! I found it fun (but then again, I am crazy like that). The cortido isn’t very spicy, and you can leave out/use less hot pepper flakes; it has a nice oregano-y flavor. My 13 year old is crazy about it (and any way to get kids to be crazy about veggies is a good thing in my book).

  3. Sonya Hemmings Says:

    Homemade mayo is on my list, too, and I need it for a Thanksgiving dish, so I’ll be trying it soon. I’ll have to look up the recipe you use. How do you like using sprouted buckwheat? I usually buy my buckwheat hulled, but I’m curious about buying it unhulled and sprouting it. Do you use it just in these cereals? Have you ever dehydrated it to make flour?
    —Sonya

    • Rebecca Says:

      Sonya,
      This is my first try at sprouting buckwheat. I am sprouting hulled buckwheat (I have read you can sprout either)… I look forward to trying it out in different dishes.

Leave a Reply

