Tuesday Twister: Almond butter squash brownies – Oxtail soup – Spelt French bread – Gluten-free Deep Dish Pizza

tuesdaytwister

Here is my entry in the GNOWFGLINS Tuesday Twister blog carnival.

The sprouted buckwheat porridge from last week was excellent! It definitely will make it into the regular breakfast rotation.

I had some leftover squash from making stuffed squash last week, so I made almond butter & squash “brownies”, which were really good. I am thinking I should make them next time we have a gathering with my parents, since they are on a low-carb diet.

I also tried making oxtail soup for the first time. It was a success, although I learned that our family likes it better with the fat strained out (something I haven’t seen in any recipe). I made some spelt French bread from the recipe in Spelt Healthy. I’ve made this recipe before, but when I made it all I had was whole grain spelt flour. This time I made it as written with mostly white spelt flour (I bought a bunch of white spelt flour from Shiloh Farms when ordering other grains, so I had it on hand). It really isn’t very flavorful that way, it’s much better as a whole grain bread. I was hoping to make sourdough bread this weekend instead but my house has been cold and my sourdough starter didn’t catch (I have had really good luck getting sourdough started here in the past, but I had to start over because my starter was moldy). Luckily, my starter is nice and active now (I’ve kept it near the wood stove) and getting ready to bake bread tomorrow.

Due to the fact that Monday’s chicken was not thawed yet, I made the gluten-free deep dish pizza instead, and it was a great success. This will definitely be in our commonly repeated meals, especially since it can be made ahead.

We are hosting my whole family for Thanksgiving this week, so there will be a whole lot of cooking for that: pies, cranberry sauce, and everything else.

And the last thing twisting in my kitchen is my 9 month old, who really enjoys pulling cookbooks off of the shelf. I’m planning to have a cookbook giveaway on my blog next week to make space on the shelves so I can empty the bottom one. Stay tuned!

Visit GNOWFGLINS to find out what is twisting in everyone else’s kitchens. Thanks again, Wardeh, for hosting this fun carnival!

4 Responses to “Tuesday Twister: Almond butter squash brownies – Oxtail soup – Spelt French bread – Gluten-free Deep Dish Pizza”

  1. Millie@Real Food for Less Money Says:

    I’m glad you found a pizza recipe to use! I’m getting some oxtail next month. I’ve never used them before. I appreciate your tip on it being fatty.
    I have a helper in the kitchen too. He is almost 11 months old and loves to play with the measuring cups.

  2. Haniya Jenan Says:

    Mom used to make buckwheat cold cereal for me since I couldn’t have the regular oatmeal. I loved it! 😀

    The pizza dish looks delicious!

    Haniya

  3. April Says:

    Is there any way you could make you blog searchable? I have a friend you is gluten-free, dairy-free and several other frees! I am trying to help her find recipes.

    Thanks

Leave a Reply

