Tuesday Twister – Chocolate Coconut Mousse Frosting – Turkey Korma – Gluten Free Naan Bread – Soaked Carob Buckwheat Pancakes

tuesdaytwister

This has been yet another busy week in the kitchen! We hosted Thanksgiving for only 11 people (plus one baby) this year (some people were sick, some had to visit other family), and then had a birthday party for my daughter and nephew, who share a birthday, two days later. For the party, I made beef tenderloin with a sauce made of herbed goat cheese and mushrooms, Wardeh’s Sourdough Chocolate Cake with Chocolate Coconut Mousse Frosting, a marble cake (my daughter’s favorite), and homemade french fries. My sister brought a nice salad, and we reheated and served up a few leftover Thanksgiving sides (the advantage of having two parties in a row).

I learned a few things this year hosting Thanksgiving (not my first, but there were a few lessons):

  • Remember to check that the correct oven is on (I realized about an hour and a half into the “cooking” that I had turned on the wrong oven)
  • Make side dish portions for half the guests, since there are so many side dishes
  • Never trust my mother to tell her sister the correct message about the turkey being delayed (somehow dinner an hour later translated to dinner three hours later; not sure how that happened)
  • Don’t bother making a pie with store-bought wheat crust; guests will all go for the homemade spelt crust anyway
  • Arrowroot is better than spelt flour for thickening gravy
  • Having a party two days after Thanksgiving is actually a good idea, because other than the dishes the house is mostly clean, and leftover sides can be recycled

My sourdough starter is happily working, and I made a few loaves of sourdough bread as well as a loaf of sourdough raisin bread (next time I will make two loaves of that).

I’ve also been trying out new recipes. Check back for posts with the recipes; I’ll update this post with links. I made Soaked Carob Buckwheat Pancakes and Turkey Korma with Gluten-Free Naan Bread.

Don’t forget to check back for details on the cookbook giveaway!

Go visit GNOWFGLINS to see what else is twisting in everyone else’s kitchens! Thanks, Wardeh, for hosting the blog carnival!

3 Responses to “Tuesday Twister – Chocolate Coconut Mousse Frosting – Turkey Korma – Gluten Free Naan Bread – Soaked Carob Buckwheat Pancakes”

  1. emily Says:

    the cake looks yummy!

  2. Millie@Real Food for Less Money Says:

    Turkey Korma sounds great. And the cake does look yummy.

  3. Wardeh @ GNOWFGLINS Says:

    What good lessons ~ sorry about the mixed messages and the wrong oven being on ~ but I know how those things go! I’d like to see your buckwheat pancake recipe when you get it done. The cake looks beautiful. I could use a piece right now. đŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

