Book Review: Sugar-Free Gluten-Free Baking and Desserts

Normally I don’t get a cookbook sight unseen, but this one wasn’t available (even to order) at my local library and I thought it would be a really handy addition.

Sugar-free Gluten-free Baking and Desserts comes more from a perspective of avoiding white flour and sugar for weight-loss/food addiction reasons and less from an allergy perspective. One of the things I don’t like about it is that in addition to agave, yacon, and stevia as sweeteners, it uses a lot of specific sweeteners without information on substitutions including Swerve and flavored liquid stevia. As someone with special dietary needs, I already have a huge arsenal of different foods in my pantry, and I don’t really need to add even more things. Another thing that I don’t like is that most of the recipes call for pre-packaged all-purpose gluten-free baking mix, without providing instructions on how to make your own. I can’t use the pre-packaged mixes, because they all contain corn and/or potato.

That said, there are a lot of really good things about this book including a great recipe for granola using sprouted buckwheat. There is also a chocolate or carob buckwheat/puffed rice cereal that I think the kids would love. Another recipe that I’d like to try that I think my husband would like is carrot cake brownies. And the Hemp Ball Truffles sound good enough to make me want to track down some hemp butter. I feel that I will use this cookbook as a source for recipe ideas, as opposed to using any of the recipes as written.

Here is a version of the sprouted buckwheat granola, without the special stevia added.

Sprouted Buckwheat Granola
2 cups sprouted buckwheat (about 1 cup unsprouted)
1/2 cup raisins
1/4 cup goji berries
4 Tbsp agave syrup
1 tsp vanilla
1 tsp cinnamon

Mix everything together. Dehydrate 12-16 hours.

Great with kefir! I think the next time I make it, I would use even less sweetener. Maybe 2-3 Tbsp of honey. The fruit makes it sweet enough. Also, I probably would add in some crispy nuts.

One Response to “Book Review: Sugar-Free Gluten-Free Baking and Desserts”

  1. Kathy Says:

    Good to know about the book. Baking is a challenge without eggs.

Leave a Reply

