Banana-Date-Oatmeal Baby Cookies

My 10 month old is starting to want what everyone else has. Since we are keeping him away from dairy, wheat, and refined sugar, it’s kind of hard to allow him to taste a cookie someone else is eating. So I decided to make him some healthy cookies so that he gets something special while people are eating Christmas cookies.

There was an age-appropriate recipe in Simply Natural Baby Food, but it had almonds in it, and I suspect he has an issue with almonds (having accidentally gotten a bite of almond cheese or something cooked with almond milk, and then having a rash both times). So I combined some ideas from that recipe with some ideas from a recipe at Cafe Sigrun, and came up with a cookie recipe with no sugar, eggs, dairy, or nuts. I’d like to try this with quinoa flakes, but I haven’t picked any up yet.

3 mashed bananas
1 cup dates, cut very small
2 cups oats (best if you soak and dehydrate them first)
4 Tbsp coconut oil
1/4 cup raisins
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp nutmeg
1/4 tsp sea salt (may leave out)

Blend coconut oil, dates, and bananas. Add remaining ingredients. Let stand 15 minutes. Set teaspoonfuls on a baking sheet covered with parchment paper.

Bake at 350 for about 25 minutes.

Makes about 30 cookies.

2 Responses to “Banana-Date-Oatmeal Baby Cookies”

  1. Tuesday Twister – Christmas Bread – Lacto-Fermented Red Cabbage « Cooking without almost everything Says:

    […] and at home, so I made some slightly-unhealthier ones since I was getting low on honey), as well as cookies for the baby. It used to be that my sister and I would get together (sometimes with my mother, sometimes […]

  2. marly67 Says:

    Thank you for this recipe, Rebecca. I will try it on my year-old grandson.
    Merry Christmas and may our Savior’s peace be with you and your precious family.
    Marly

Leave a Reply

