Menu Plan Monday – Week of 12/21/2009

I can’t believe Christmas is almost here! The kids and I have been sick (I seem to have it worst, because I can’t get time to rest properly), hopefully we are all better before then.

On Christmas Eve, my husband and I both had traditions of celebrating Christmas, but my family’s tradition just involved going to church, and the food was an afterthought, and his tradition was to have roast chicken, so we have adopted that tradition. My parents and sister and her family come over and we all go to church and then have dinner. For dessert, we have rice pudding. One of the kids’ bowls has an almond hidden inside, and the one with the almond gets a special gift. This year we are lucky to have a leg of hangikjöt (smoked lamb) from Iceland that my mother-in-law gave to us, so we will have that along with the chicken (and I need to remember to take it out of the freezer today).

Monday – Sweet Potato, Sausage, and Apple casserole (we ended up having soup last Friday instead)

Tuesday – Sloppy Lentils in the Crockpot

Wednesday – Split Pea Soup

Thursday (Christmas Eve) – Roast chicken, smoked lamb leg, salad, roasted vegetables, rice pudding

Friday – Leftovers from Thursday (a tradition)

Saturday – Party at my mother’s

2 Responses to “Menu Plan Monday – Week of 12/21/2009”

  1. sustainableeats Says:

    Ris gryns grott! don’t get the almond or you’ll get married in the new year. :p Oh how I miss that but I don’t buy white rice and it’s just not the same with brown rice. I just have to settle for tapioca with cinnamon sugar on top. Did your MIL bring the lamb leg all the way from Iceland? I can’t tell where you are but I’m guessing the US since you mentioned Thanksgiving.

    I hope you are feeling better!

    • Rebecca Says:

      We buy white rice especially for Christmas… it’s not as healthy but it’s once a year. 🙂

      Yes, we are in the US. MIL sent the lamb home with us from Iceland last time we visited.

Leave a Reply

