Tuesday Twister – Christmas Bread – Lacto-Fermented Red Cabbage

tuesdaytwister

This week I have been busy getting ready for Christmas and fighting off a cold. I made more meringues (coffee this time, also good) and mömmukökur (the healthy ones were a hit at my Christmas party and at home, so I made some slightly-unhealthier ones since I was getting low on honey), as well as cookies for the baby. It used to be that my sister and I would get together (sometimes with my mother, sometimes without) and make 5-10 different varieties of cookies (but always spritz, and chocolate cookies filled with a mint chocolate candy). Lately, between our busy schedules and my special diet, we end up making our own batches of cookies. I was thinking of making one more kind, but I’ll see if my family eats all of the ones I have. I want to have some left for a party the day after Christmas. I wanted to make Wardeh’s peppermint bark, but I am not sure if I have enough coconut oil left, and haven’t been able to rummage in the cabinets to find my peppermint extract.

Also on the Christmas theme, I made some Christmas bread: a loaf of spelt sourdough with cardamom, cinnamon, and raisins. I think the recipe needs work (at least more cinnamon), but it could just be my stuffy nose affecting my sense of taste. It looks nice though.

And since red cabbage is a traditional Christmas food, I decided to try making lacto-fermented red cabbage and apples. I am not sure how it will come out, but we’ll see how it is and if it came out well I will post the recipe.

Go visit GNOWFGLINS and see what is twisting in everyone else´s kitchens!

2 Responses to “Tuesday Twister – Christmas Bread – Lacto-Fermented Red Cabbage”

  1. Wardeh @ GNOWFGLINS Says:

    The Christmas loaf does look good! I’m sorry you’ve been sick this week. Hope you’re all better by Christmas and have a blessed one!

  2. Millie@Real Food for Less Money Says:

    The baby cookies are a great idea. I hope the cabbage and apple turn out so you can share the recipe:-)

Leave a Reply

