Tuesday Twister 11/9/2010 – Abundance of Pumpkin


I have been wanting to do a few Tuesday Twister posts, but I never seem to have time on Tuesdays. Maybe I will have a Tuesday Twister Retro post where I recap some things I did over the summer.

I bought a pumpkin at the last farmer’s market of the season (I think I got about 3-4 cups from a sugar pumpkin) so we’ve been having a lot of pumpkin themed food over the last few weeks.

I made the not very TF Freeze-Ahead And Bake Pumpkin Scones, subbing Bob’s Red Mill GF All Purpose Baking Flour, and adding 3/4 tsp xantham gum. (I did them without the xantham gum the first time, but the texture was not quite right). You could sub any gluten-free blend (there are tons of recipes online, Living Without has a few, and there are the Bette Hagman mixes). I’d be interested to try them by using kefir as the liquid, but how can you soak the grains for scones? Mix up the batter and let it sit overnight? I also would be curious to see what you could do for the glaze if you wanted it besides using confectioner’s sugar. I haven’t had much success with trying to sub rapadura in something like that. Maybe maple syrup thickened with a starch? I think the maple would go nicely with the spiced pumpkin flavor.

We also had one of our fall favorites, Pasta with Pumpkin Sauce.

I used Nourished Kitchen’s Toasted Pumpkin Seeds to make “classic” (just salted) pumpkin seeds and they were the best ones I have ever made. Too bad we didn’t do a jack-o-lantern this year, so that we would have more pumpkin seeds.

And I made Pumpkin Baked Oatmeal, which is one of my new favorite breakfasts.

I think I need to buy a few more pumpkins so I can cook and freeze them, before they are impossible to find.

Visit GNOWFGLINS to see what is twisting in everyone else’s kitchens this week!

Leave a Reply

